The Thirty Year Difference

image

This is a photo of my daughter and me.  WHAT is it that makes one pull one’s face in such a funny way, when one holds a cellphone or tablet at arms length to take a self portrait? But to me, it turned out to be a precious photo, anyway.

Our birthdays are just two weeks apart, with 30  years inbetween our birth years. She could probably use it instead of some hit-and-miss “Age Yourself” application. And hopefully recover from the sinking feeling of knowing what she would look like 30 years into the future.

Which always makes me wonder: do we REALLY  want to know?

If  I knew what scars the next thirty years of living life were going to leave on my face – around my eyes and in the way my mouth is going to shape – would I have the courage to live them?

6 thoughts on “The Thirty Year Difference

    1. Hello daar! “Daar’s lewe!” Ek speel bietjie diekant van die WordPress-net ook om te kyk hoe werk my tablet se WordPress app…as ek met hom inlog kom ek uit op hierdie bladsy…maar as elk met dieselfde naam en wagwoord inlog aan die litnet kant, van ‘n ander browser af, kom ek op die afrikaansebladsy uit. Lykmy daar is ‘n ondeurdringbare muur tussen die twee?

  1. As jy my “lewe” noem, is ek bly, maar nie almal sal dalk jou sentimente deel nie!

    🙂

    Tipies Flentergat woon ek deesdae op die kaihaai vlaktes waar daar nie mure is nie……..

  2. Julle twee lyk vir my baie naby aan sussies, daardie appeltjie het sommer reg langs die stam geval ;:-)

Leave a Reply

